Board Members


Alastair Shields B.Bus (Acctg). LLB, EMPA

Appointed 2 September 2014

Prior to appointment as Chief Executive Officer of the Department of Tourism and Culture in

September 2016, Alastair was Chief Executive Officer of the Department of Land Resource Management from March 2015, and he acted as Chief Executive Officer of the

Department of Business during 2014. Alastair was born and educated in Darwin and has more than 35 years of public sector experience in the Northern Territory, most of it at the Northern Territory Department of the Attorney-General and Justice and its predecessors. Alastair has been involved in commercial negotiations for major projects in the Northern Territory, such as the AustralAsia Railway, North East Gas Interconnector (NEGI) project, Darwin City Waterfront and the Marine Supply Base. He has qualifications in Law and Accounting and a Masters in Public Administration.

Chief Executive Officer

Brendan Lawson Dip.CE, FIEAust

Appointed CEO 6 October 2004

Appointed CEO 6 October 2004 Brendan Lawson is the Chief Executive Officer of the AustralAsia Railway Corporation. Brendan is a civil engineer with a background in construction of transport infrastructure and has been associated with the AustralAsia Railway Project since 1996. Previous roles with the Northern Territory Government involved managing a range of preconstruction activities for the Railway, project management of Darwin’s East Arm Port, Project Administrator of the Darwin Waterfront Development and the Darwin Marine Supply Base.

Mr Rob Fuller LL.B.

Appointed 1 September 2012

Mr Fuller is Manager, Legal Services in the South Australian Crown Solicitor’s Office.  Robert is a solicitor representing the South Australian Government and practices in the areas of public finance, project finance, debt capital markets, derivatives, insurance and general commercial.   Past board appointment included Director of the South Australian statutory body RESI Corporation.

Andrew Kirkman, Chief Executive Officer, NT Department of Transport

Appointed 14 October 2015

Andrew commenced as the Chief Executive Officer of the NT Department of Transport on 27 July 2015. Prior to this, Andrew has held the position of General Manager for the Land Development Corporation since March 2014 and continues to hold the position of Chief Executive of the Darwin Waterfront Corporation. With 16 years experience in the Northern Territory Public Service, Andrew has previously held positions in the Department of Housing since 2009, including that of Deputy Chief Executive, Executive Director of Remote Housing and Executive Director of the Darwin Region. Andrew has previously held key roles in the AustralAsia Railway Corporation, Department of the Chief Minister and NT Treasury. Previously, Andrew worked in finance and commercial roles in the private sector, locally in the mining industry and overseas on public private partnerships. Andrew has undertaken all his schooling in the Northern Territory. He is a Certified Practicing Accountant and has tertiary qualifications in business.

 Mr Mike Wilde

Appointed 28 July 2018

Appointed 28 July 2016 Mike Wilde is the Manager, Moving Freight in the South Australian Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure (DPTI). Prior to joining DPTI, Mr Wilde spent over 31 years in the rail freight industry with experience in business development, customer service delivery, and operations planning roles. This includes 15 years in freight activities on the Alice Springs and Darwin corridors, holding senior management positions with FreightLink and as a board member for the Tarcoola to Darwin corridor maintenance joint venture.